NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award

The NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award is given in memory of Mary Jean Harrold and David Notkin, in honor of their outstanding research, graduate mentoring, and diversity contributions. The award recognizes faculty members from non-profit, U.S. institutions (excluding U.S. territories) who combine outstanding research accomplishments with excellence in graduate mentoring, as well as those who advocate for recruiting, encouraging, and promoting women and minorities in computing fields at both a local and national level.

Congratulations to Dr. Richard Ladner, the 2019 recipient!

Find out what makes Dr. Ladner such a noteworthy mentor to his students and an inspiration for his colleagues in this NCWIT blog.


  • The award recipient’s institution receives a $5,000 gift from NCWIT, and the award recipient receives a certificate.
  • The award recipient will receive recognition at the 2019 NCWIT Summit, and reimbursement for his or her Summit travel.

Additional Information

View the 2019 Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award Nomination Call & FAQs here, if you would like to see the information you will be asked to provide in the online form. Also included are eligibility details and important deadlines of this award.

View Previous Winners

For further information about any NCWIT Academic Alliance opportunities, please contact the NCWIT Academic Alliance Director at

To join the NCWIT Academic Alliance, simply complete this Academic Alliance Membership Form to be sent further details regarding membership.


Get To Know Us: 

Leen Kiat Soh

Co-chair Liaison

Nancy Amato

Project Team Co-leader

Jennifer Rexford

Project Team Co-leader

Rick Adrion

Project Team Member

Maria Gini

Project Team Member

William Griswold

Project Team Member