NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award

The NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring (URM) Award recognizes Academic Alliance representatives at non-profit, U.S. institutions (including U.S. territories) for their outstanding mentorship, high-quality research opportunities, recruitment of women and minority students, and efforts to encourage and advance undergraduates in computing-related fields.


Students often cite the importance of an individual faculty mentor whose support influenced their educational and career path. Data show that research experiences for undergraduates (REUs) can make a difference in students’ lives and provide a pathway to graduate degrees and research careers. REUs can be particularly important for women – who earn only 18 percent of all bachelor’s degrees in computing – since they provide opportunities for personalized student-faculty interaction, a strong predictor of student retention.

Nominations for the URM Award are now closed. Stay tuned for the announcement of the 2020 URM Award Recipients.


  • The institution where the school resides will receive a $5,000 gift, courtesy of the 2020 URM Award Sponsor AT&T, which the winner can use for their research.
  • The award recipient will receive recognition at the 2020 NCWIT Summit in May.

Additional Information

The Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award accepts nominations for faculty from all non-profit, U.S. Academic Alliance member institutions.* Self-nomination is perfectly acceptable.

View the 2020 Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award Nomination Call & FAQs here, if you would like to see the short information you will be asked in the online form. Also included are eligibility details, information requested from the nominee, and important deadlines of this award.

*Note: a school may become a member after one of its faculty is nominated.

View Previous Winners
For further information about any NCWIT Academic Alliance opportunities, please contact the NCWIT Academic Alliance Director at

To join the NCWIT Academic Alliance, simply complete this Academic Alliance Membership Form to be sent further details regarding membership.

Get To Know Us 
Maureen Doyle
Co-chair Liaison
J. Jenny Li
Project Team Co-leader
Katie Siek
Project Team Co-leader